Written by Maddy Job | Photos by Swilly

Everybody’s favourite surfing event of the year has been run and won at pumping Burleigh Rocky in what was an incredible celebration of single fin surfing and the surfing community.

The 21st Annual Single Fin Classic once again attracted a world-class field of former world champions, current and future world title contenders as well as local superstars to do battle on single fin surfboards constructed before 1985. 

With the equipment levelling out the playing field mixed with a more traditional judging criteria, each and every surfer had the ability to be crowned the 2021 champion. With Burleigh Point producing non-stop reeling right-handers, a key point was wave selection which is no easy task in a six-man field of surfers all hungry for victory.

We were treated to an event that will go down in the history books with standout performances across all four of the divisions and a great weekend of fun was shared by all competitors.

A key event standout was Paul Fisher (Palm Beach) who knocked out none other 2012 World Champion Joel Parkinson while claiming two heat wins on his road to the final. Fisher showcased his pre-DJ surfing form with some fast and radical surfing while finding the perfect scoring rides.

Fisher opened up the final with an 8.23 excellent score, making him a real shot at claiming the 2021 title however his fairy-tale ending was not to be as he failed to find a backup score.

Quinn Bruce (Coolangatta) was able to claim a narrow victory over Cooper Chapman (Narrabeen) with a combined heat total of 16.67 out of a possible 20. Quinn was able to drive his 1980’s single fin through the big sections in an incredible display of power surfing while bringing a futuristic rail approach to the traditional single fin lines. Quinn has landed himself a spot on the elite list of champions.

Rounding out the men’s field included Liam O’Brien, Jay Thompson, Josh Douthwaite and Paul Fisher finishing 2nd-6th respectfully and all deserve very special mentions for the level of surfing they brought to the event.

Every year the Under 18 Boys impress us all with just how well they can surf boards made decades before they were even born. The final was nothing short of amazing with all six surfers trading waves and absolutely nailing critical manoeuvres. A special mention to Max Deffenti for landing what could be described as the biggest turn of the event going upside down on his backhand.

Currumbin’s Ty Richardson was able to successfully defend his 2020 title and emerged victorious once again in 2021 with a near-perfect 17-point heat total. Rounding out the under 18’s was Tane Dobbyn, Rico Haybittle, Tom Whitpaine, Max Deffenti and Kaiden Smales.

Dimity Stoyle was also able to go back to back, celebrating her second consecutive win in the Open Women’s division with her style perfectly matching the traditional single fin approach. Runner up was Carly Shannahan with Marie-Moana Troja, Juniper Harper, Jaleesa Vincent and Liliana Bowrey finishing third-6th respectively.

The legends invitational saw heroes of the past go head to head in 2021. Matt Hoy cemented bragging rights for the year, claiming victory with a 16.50 heat total proving he still has plenty of competitive fire. Rounding out the seven-man heat was Paul Surman (2nd) Cheyne Horan (3rd), Brendon Margo (4th), Guy Ormerod (5th), Mark Occhilupo (6th) and Dwayne Harris (7th).

Burleigh Boardriders club would like to personally thank all competitors, volunteers and spectators for making the 2021 Single Fin Festival such a special event and we already look forward to next year.