The brief for the Surf Photographer of the Year category was as follows:

The title says it all. Surf Photographer of the Year will be the awarded to the entrant who submits the best mini-portfolio of four images that covers each of the categories.

The Winner - Presented by Corona

A massive congratulations to Duncan Macfarlane whose Portfolio was voted by the SALT Surf Photography Awards judging panel as the best, and has just earned him a tidy $5000.00!!

In the end it was undisputed. Thousands of banging surf photos were entered from around the globe with competition tight for the four individual Salt categories. They were decided by popular vote but the big one, Photographer of the Year, was awarded by an expert judging panel who zeroed in one portfolio and one name: Duncan MacFarlane.

If you’re unfamiliar with the name you’ll probably know his work: artistically composed, beautifully lit, photojournalistic-inspired. It’s dazzlingly good and frequently published. Duncan shoots it all - land, water, portraiture, action, lifestyle, fashion, travel – and all of it like it was his chosen niche.

Duncan's Winning Portfolio of Four Images:




First Runner Up – Andrew Sheild


Second Runner Up – Mike Riley



Third Runner Up – Jason Childs



Fourth Runner Up – Brian Bielmann



To see all the winners and more printed in high-resolution make sure you pick up Tracks #553 on-sale 19th September!

A massive thanks to Corona for all their support, without which, none of this would’ve been possible.

A huge shout-out to all who entered and voted! See you all next year!